The Dolomites require no introduction. In 2009 they were granted UNESCO World Heritage Status. The Schiara Group is part of nine components identified in the UNESCO Dolomites (Pale di San Martino, Pale di San Lucano, Dolomiti Bellunesi and Vette Feltrine). In 1990 the Veneto region established the Dolomites of Belluno National Park, a protected area that comprised 15 of the province’s municipalities, including the provincial capital, and a large number of peaks, including the Schiara, which is the tallest at a height of 2,565 metres.